Question for Ron R or any of his "graduates"

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by Rich Gibson, Aug 15, 2005.

1. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

2. Thanks Paul. I'm an engineer by education and therefore constrained to ask "how did one come up with this?" Ron's eBook "sort of" states "because I said so..I've processed hundfreds of thousands of images." This is not to deprecaite him or his work in any way. I"m sure his experience bears this out....otherwise I wouldn't adhere to his technique....or spend quite a bit of my own money to atend his class this fall. I would simply like to have a better understanding of what I'm doing here.

I don't use curves either; never seemed necessary using NC and RR's techniques.

I can't wait till early October to spend three days dedicated to pure photography and post processing.

Rich

3. jgrove

jgrove

Apr 13, 2005
    Halesowen,UK
    I know its a bit OT but since moving from film to digital i have had for more questions than answers! Paul thanks for clearing up one of those questions about moving the sliders becuase i never could understand why i was doing it!

Cheers

4. I remember asking Ron this at the workshop I took a couple of years. Memory is a touch fuzzy, but as I recall the short answer is "because it works" :lol: .

And I believe that the longer answer had to do with Ron's background and understanding of video and color in general. Paul's commentary sounds quite familiar as well, so I think it is at least close. This would be a good topic for an email to Ron.....

5. I haven't taken the time to correlate the times of the postings both here and on DPR, but there's some credible discussion there as well (for a change).