Question on HDR using D700??

Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
244
Location
Marina Del Rey
Sorry for all these questions but I know how to speak canon and new to nikon. I shoot alot of HDR's and my question is when I setup the bracketing is there a way I could use the timer to auto fire all 9 shots, do I need a shutter release or do I need to setup interval timer shooting?

In canon all you have to do is setup the bracketing then set it to timer and your set it will fire all 7 shots for bracketing..
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
6,117
Location
Upstate SC
I'm anxious to see the answer here, too. There was no way to do it with the D200 - the series had to be fired manually...
 
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
119
Location
Virginia, USA
I just set the camera to continuous AF or manual, shooting mode to CL and use an IR remote. Just hold the button in until all of your brackets are shot.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
2,547
Location
Denmark
Alan, what is this IR-remote - is it the "old" ML-3 (I think the name is) for D70 and D40 ?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
244
Location
Marina Del Rey
I just set the camera to continuous AF or manual, shooting mode to CL and use an IR remote. Just hold the button in until all of your brackets are shot.


Yeah I was looking to avoid using some sort of remote..And plus I don't think they make a ir remote for the d700 unless I use those ebay remotes or I could use my pocket wizards..I just don't like to carry that many items just my tripod and my camera but looks like I will need a shutter release of some sort or timer but it will take a longer time..
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
244
Location
Marina Del Rey
I just set the camera to continuous AF or manual, shooting mode to CL and use an IR remote. Just hold the button in until all of your brackets are shot.


Yeah I was looking to avoid using some sort of remote..And plus I don't think they make a ir remote for the d700 unless I use those ebay remotes or I could use my pocket wizards..I just don't like to carry that many items just my tripod and my camera but looks like I will need a shutter release of some sort or timer interval setting but it will just take a longer time..
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
50
Location
Odense, Denmark
I am also thinking about switching to Nikon (D700) and this is one of my favorite functions of my Pentax K20D - is it impossible with the D700? What happens if you choose shooting mode CL and set it for timer and bracketing, will it only fire one shot?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
244
Location
Marina Del Rey
I am also thinking about switching to Nikon (D700) and this is one of my favorite functions of my Pentax K20D - is it impossible with the D700? What happens if you choose shooting mode CL and set it for timer and bracketing, will it only fire one shot?


Well if you set the timer it only sets off 1 shot..After reading the manual the only way to have it shoot automatically without using a remote or pressing the shutter is to use the time interval setting. It works but it just takes longer to setup. So what I did is made a short cut in my menu already setup to fire 9 shots just need to setup the timer.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
50
Location
Odense, Denmark
Well if you set the timer it only sets off 1 shot..After reading the manual the only way to have it shoot automatically without using a remote or pressing the shutter is to use the time interval setting. It works but it just takes longer to setup. So what I did is made a short cut in my menu already setup to fire 9 shots just need to setup the timer.

Thank you - guess there is no such thing as a perfect camera, but D700 comes Sooo close :biggrin:
(at least there is a workaround - could be added through firmware though)
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
244
Location
Marina Del Rey
Thank you - guess there is no such thing as a perfect camera, but D700 comes Sooo close :biggrin:
(at least there is a workaround - could be added through firmware though)


True it would be nice if you could just use the timer..But other than that I like the camera. Just need to get use to all the settings compared to canon.
 

Latest threads

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom