Question on photo ownership

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SheltieBoy, Aug 6, 2007.

1. SheltieBoy

SheltieBoy

Feb 16, 2007
    Montana
    I'm just an amateur photographer, never even tried to sell a photo, but I received the following e-mail message today:

I found a photo which you posted of a Portuguese Water Dog in a dog agility competition at the Rose City Classic dog show 2007 in Portland, Oregon, USA. That is my black PWD coming over that red double jump. Are you the one who took that photo, or did you purchase it from someone else?

No one asked my permission to use that photo, and I was unaware of its existance.

I would probably be willing to let you continue to use it if you could provide me with a good 8 x 10 of this image.

Please let me know about how you came to list this photo.

The only signs posted about photography were no flash which I obeyed completely. This implies to me that non-flash photography was acceptable. I can't imagine that I would be expected to get the permission of every dog owner to take photos. If I was using this for commercial purposes it might be different (maybe) but these were all just practice photos.

What rights/responsibilities do I have in a situation like this? I would like to have some thoughts from other photographers before I reply to this lady.

I believe this is the photo that she is referring to: http://flickr.com/photos/montanapets/368641669/in/set-72157594511111084/

Thanks for any feedback.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2007
  2. Don't know how it works over there stateside but over here it would be deemed that she's trying to scam you out of a freebie 8x10. Tell her she is more than welcome to purchase one at a cost of xx$'s.