1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

R1 Flash on the way!

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by daveg, Oct 3, 2008.

1. daveg

daveg

Jul 14, 2008
    UK
    Hi,

I have just ordered an R1 flash for my D300 / 105 VR.

Would anyone like to post some shots here so that I can see what I am about to be in for?

Also any tips and tricks would be helpful - there are some remarkable pictures here that I would like to be able to take myself!!

DaveG

2. Hi DaveG

You will find the R1C1 and 105f2.8 a great combination on the D300, attached are some that I took with the R1C1/1052.8 but on a D3, now I am no expert in respect to flower photography but I have received some good comments from The forum members that encourages me to continue with this set up, I for one am very happy with this combination

John

2701769634_7d81bff04d.

2723048308_fdda80aa71.

View attachment 262328

2914687571_88ac96d292.

3. VFib-911

VFib-911

Oct 22, 2007
    NW Ohio
    Beautiful pics John... been considering the R1 myself. Sounds like the R1 system gives you significant flexibility in composing your shots.

DaveG - please keep us informed as to your impressions of the R1 once you have a chance to give it a go.

Regards,

4. Time for me to hit up Google I guess...

5. daveg

daveg

Jul 14, 2008
    UK
    First impressions:

The box it came in is HUGE, but to be fair it is the R1C1 box - I bought it at a good price without the SU800.

Lots if bits and pieces to play with!

It's heavier than expected on the 105 VR!

Like most people, I am not over-enthusiastic about the dependance on CR123 batteries but I have found a source of rechargeable CR123s and will be getting some.