1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Racing Greyhound photography

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by greyhound rick, Aug 2, 2008.

1. Hello everyone. This is my first post and I thank you for allowing me into the Nikon Cafe!!

I have been an avid photographer for about a year now and have tried to learn as much as possible. We love to go to Phoenix Greyhound Park and shoot the greyhound races (we go about 3-4 nights per week). We also own race dogs and are on the Board of Directors of Racing Home Greyhound Adoption which is VERY important to us.

Here are a few photos I took the last few times out to the track:

In this one...only the 2 dog (blue blanket) is in sharp focus:

2724006221_8a1e4b5258.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Here are a couple more:

2724005357_44c167282c.jpg

2708237889_3ba34a7e31.jpg

Since this is my first post, Im not sure if this is the right area on the board to ask for advice, but I will anyway.....if I need to address this somewhere else on the board please let me know and I appologize for not knowing the proper procedure yet.

Im using a D300 with mostly 2 lenses. A recently received 70-200 f/2.8 and a 50mm f/1.8. Ive noticed that with a lot of my images shot with the 70-200 in the very difficult first turn area, that during playback of the images on the camera monitor (using focus point display feature), that the greyhound that the focus point is on is not in focus, yet the greyhounds behind the focus point are in focus. What can cause this to happen?

I would think that it could be back focus, but my lens was checked and it is spot on.