Raspberry Pi mini computer

I kept running across mentions of this little Raspberry Pi device on the web and from some IT guys at work, and finally decided to investigate. Turns out it's a super cheap little computer that runs on Linux, and can use a variety of operating systems, Raspbian being the most common. I'm completely new to Linux and have been coddled for years by the Apple ecosystem.

I picked up a couple (around $40 each), one for me, and one for my son. These were initially conceived of as cheap devices to allow folks to experiment with computer science, and my 7-year-old exhausted all of the exercises on code.org, so it seemed like the next step. It's essentially a small board with an integrated CPU/GPU. On the current version 3, you get 4 USB 2.0 ports, a micro-USB charging port, an HDMI port for video out, a 3.5mm stereo audio out. There are also some other inputs for other add-on modules. It's got integrated Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. The whole thing runs off a micro-SD card that you load up with install software. I bought some cheap acrylic cases for us to build together, and grabbed some beat-up cables, keyboard, and mouse at work.

I have to say it's been a blast! He's working with a program called Scratch to learn some basic programming skills with a kid friendly graphic user interface. Then he can move onto a game he knows and loves called Minecraft, with the caveat that you can edit the code with the command line interface to tweak the rules of the game (loving that idea). Advanced users can use the CLI and freeware for all sorts of stuff.

I found an interesting set of projects one can do that are beneficial for photographers. The one that interested me is the creation of a cheap field image back-up device.

Backup Photos While Traveling With an iPad Pro and a Raspberry Pi
Backup Photos While Traveling With a Raspberry Pi - Part II