Raw color question

Hey folks.

I searched a bit but couldnt really find the answers to my questions

Easy question --> When shooting RAW with my D90 does the picture control (vivid, standard, etc) have any effect with the result?

My impression so far is... NO.

am i correct in this?

I recently started shooting Raw. The images a look a little bit subdued and dull compared to the Jpegs.

You are correct, in that picture controls do not affect raw images which come out of your camera in the way they affect jpeg images that come out of your camera.

Having said that, in order to view a raw file (using whatever raw converter you are using), some sort of translation is still occurring between the raw file and the image you see on your screen. If you use a raw converter which does support picture controls (e.g. Capture NX and ACR), then you can achieve the same effect but in a reversible way. Whereas, if you have already applied the picture control via the camera and only have a jpeg to show for it, then the process is no longer reversible.

Following on from Seyil.
A jpeg from your camera (and that is what you see on the LCD) is a Nikon processing of the raw sensor data including any camera settings. Once it is processed that is that basically except for manipulation after the fact.
With raw (NEF) files the sensor data is stored in a TIFF type container and the camera settings can be applied by software if the software can or chooses to use them. Nikons software does read and use the camera settings.
Adobe chooses not to use the camera setting notes as they are not openly documented and so has come up with Camera Profiles for use in Lightroom or Photoshops ACR. These profiles mimic Nikons settings and are available for most Nikon and Canon models.
So if you are using an Adobe product for your NEF's you can apply a variety of profiles as well as any other develop settings that suit your taste.