1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Re: Night Photography

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by Catz, Aug 10, 2009.

1. Hi,

I have been messing with photography for around 5 years or so and it took a while for me to even learn how to shoot manual in daylight but when it comes to night photography, I am terrible.

Can you explain or suggest some settings for night photography with have me shooting them in no time? I want to so much be able to shoot panos of cities.

Thanks so much for any advice.

2. well youll need a fast lens, and adjust your settings like a lower aperture.

3. garyosborne

garyosborne Guest

While i'm no expert, these are some considerations:

-base iso = less noise = you'll prob need a tripod
    -if you want to stitch panos, definitely a tripod for best results
    -imo some colour in the sky adds a lot of character so around dusk to just after

the settings will depend on the effect you want to achieve:

-if you want strong light sources to be stars you need to stop down
    -corresponding long shutter speeds will smear the trafffic etc

-i found recently at about 10mins to about 1hr after sunset approx 30 secs at f8 gave me best results but i was shooting to reveal the stars with only a few buildings in the frame. if you have a bright cityscape this will be too much.

Sorry this doesn't probably help much. I guess what i did to nail it down is set the iso to the highest to get a metered shutter speed at set aperture. Then dial the iso back down to base and add the stops to the shutter speed, take a test shot then bracket 1 stop either side take a look at the results and adjust to suit...this only takes a minute or so usually but then you wont be guessing

4. digipix

digipix Subscribing Member

Mar 30, 2006