Rokinon 85mm f/1.4

Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
2,296
Location
Maryland USA
FedEx just dropped this lens off which I got very fast from Overstock.com for $245 + they sent a free 72mm filter with it.

The lens is very solid and has smooth focus. The aperture ring is a little small for my big fingers but I can manage.

The lens looks to be pretty sharp wide-open. Below are some test shots from around the house. D700 @ f/1.4


Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


View attachment 392684

View attachment 392685

View attachment 392686

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
682
Location
Colorado, USA
Wondering if this is the same Opteka/Bower/Polar lenses that all seem to look alike? They sure seem to be a good value. I hope to see more of what yours does for you. Looking for a fast 85mm, and thinking there's no way I'll be affording a Nikkor 1.4 anytime soon. Maybe a used 1.8. This could be the ticket, though...
Good luck,
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
517
Location
Canada
No, it's an AIS lens.
oh.. That is funny I just came back from the local camera shop, checking out the 50 1.2 ais lens, and he was saying on the d300, d700, d3, d3x you can set the f-stop with the control dial... because I was using the d90 to check it out (which doesn't have that feature. couldn't confirm it... didn't have my d300 on me and they did not have a d300 instock to test with).

I guess the guy behind the counter didn't know what he was talking about?
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
2,296
Location
Maryland USA
Wondering if this is the same Opteka/Bower/Polar lenses that all seem to look alike? They sure seem to be a good value. I hope to see more of what yours does for you. Looking for a fast 85mm, and thinking there's no way I'll be affording a Nikkor 1.4 anytime soon. Maybe a used 1.8. This could be the ticket, though...
Good luck,
Yes, it's the same as all the other re-brands. I like this one because it focuses the same direction as Nikon lenses. Some of the other re-brands go the opposite way.

I was going out to take some shots at the lake, but it started to rain really hard.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
2,296
Location
Maryland USA
oh.. That is funny I just came back from the local camera shop, checking out the 50 1.2 ais lens, and he was saying on the d300, d700, d3, d3x you can set the f-stop with the control dial... because I was using the d90 to check it out... didn't have the d300 on me and they did not have a d300 instock to test with.

I guess the guy behind the counter didn't know what he was talking about?

Yeah, he did not know what he was talking about like most of the camera shop guys. you have to use the ring. But you can set up the lens data in the D200, D300, D3, D700, etc. so when you turn the ring you see the f/ stop go up and down in the viewfinder.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
517
Location
Canada
Yeah, he did not know what he was talking about like most of the camera shop guys. you have to use the ring. But you can set up the lens data in the D200, D300, D3, D700, etc. so when you turn the ring you see the f/ stop go up and down in the viewfinder.
Cool, Thanks that is good to know, since I am thinking of possibly picking up the 50 1.2 ais... :biggrin:

So you see it cause it turns the "tab" that is sticking out from the lens mount on the camera correct?
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
2,296
Location
Maryland USA
Cool, Thanks that is good to know, since I am thinking of possibly picking up the 50 1.2 ais... :biggrin:

So you see it cause it turns the "tab" that is sticking out from the lens mount on the camera correct?

Yes, when the ring turns it moves the tab on the mount and this tells the body what f/ stop is being used. So if you get the 50 1.2 all you'll need to do on your D300 is goto the set up menu and find the non-cpu lens data option and fill in the lens info. You can store up to 9 lenses.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
517
Location
Canada
Yes, when the ring turns it moves the tab on the mount and this tells the body what f/ stop is being used. So if you get the 50 1.2 all you'll need to do on your D300 is goto the set up menu and find the non-cpu lens data option and fill in the lens info. You can store up to 9 lenses.
Cool, Thanks again... sorry to pull the Thread away from the main purpose....

Congrats on the lens.. looks like a "killer"... please post some more shots for us!
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
25
Location
Northern VA
Got mine today from overstock, It came with a filter as well, although I will probably not use it.

This lens is SHARP, probably as sharp and maybe sharper than my 50 1.4 G.

I got the lens for portraits as MF and f1.4 arent really usable on subjects in motion. But this is a hell of a portrait lens for 250 bucks shipped.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom