Critique Roller Derby Headshots

I've only (slowly) been getting into doing studio portraits. And since I shoot Roller Derby I was called upon to do some skater headshots. These were taken over the past 8 months or so with essentially the same gear. D7200, Nikkor 85mm f1.8 (the first 2), Tamron 70-200mm f2.8 G2, and 2 Yongnuo YN685 speed lights in 2 octaboxes.

Let me know what you think; "the good, the bad, the ugly" as they say.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Real Name
Ian
Dan, I am by no means an expert when it comes to headshots, but a few things stood out to me:

1. The lighting is very even, possibly a bit underexposed. The subject doesn't really "pop" against the background, which could be remedied by either increasing the flash exposure, or adding a rim light to help better define the edges of the subject (make your second light a rim light, and add a reflector to act as your fill).

2. IMO this is your best image. The subject is well exposed.

3. This is the best "portrait" pose, but I would add a bit of fill to her right side to eliminate the shadows on her face. I would bump up the power on the fill light a bit to combat the shadows. Also, I don't like that her arm and helmet are cut off.

Like I said, I am by no means an expert, but those are my thoughts when I look at the images. Thanks for sharing (and how about some action shots?)!

Posing and composition are all solid on these images.

Image #1 seems a bit underexposed and image #3 feels a bit uneven with lighting especially if you were using two flashes. Image #2 seems to hit the mark with exposure. Also I'd try using a step stool and mix up perspective. Maybe try a few shots from top-down just to mix it up.

If you're having a flash recycling issue, I highly recommend getting the Godox power pack for your TT685 flashes to give you more juice.

Dan, I am by no means an expert when it comes to headshots, but a few things stood out to me: