Rookie shots

Discussion in 'Birds' started by PixelPete, Dec 15, 2005.

1. PixelPete

PixelPete Guest

Im new to bird photography so I dont know any of the rules but heres a few recent shots with the 300 f/4.
    [​IMG]
    This is as close as an Egret has ever let me get.Im about 40 yards off here.Boy these birds have keen eye sight!
    [​IMG]
    I think this is a wigeon not possitive.
    [​IMG]
    I liked the way the Heron blends into it surroundings on this one.
    [​IMG]

Question? What are the hard and fast rules for wing blurr or are there any?
    Based on my VERY limited experience Im guessing there has to be
    some kind of allowance compared to other types of photography.

2. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Those look excellent Pete! I didn't think there were any rules, except bring back great pix, which you have done!

3. Flew

Flew

Jan 25, 2005
    Alabama
    I agree with Chris Pete. Very nice shots. :smile:

4. JeffKohn

JeffKohn

Apr 21, 2005
    Houston, TX
    These are good, especially the in-flight shot. Keeping the highlights can be difficult with birds, shooting RAW can help though. As others said I don't think there are any hard and fast rules about wing blur, it just depends on the look you're going for.

5. dbirdsong

dbirdsong Guest

6. biggstr6

biggstr6

Apr 26, 2005
    Richmond,Va
    Im not a birder,but they look good to me .

FWIW.

7. Very nice series, look forward to seeing more.

8. bfjr

bfjr Guest

There are two rules

1. have fun

2. bring home great images

You've done both !! :wink:

9. Very Nice. It seems you already have mastered Rule #1- get close.

10. Pete, if you're just starting, I can't wait till you get some more practise under your belt! These are very good!