RPN

My sister recently asked me to look for an HP calculator for her.
She wanted a RPN calculator as "she could not get her head around using an algebraic calculator."
That is something us RPN guys can relate to.​

That reminded me of an incident MANY years ago, when a manager was "insulted" when one of his staff mentioned "Reverse Polish Notation," when talking about his HP calculator.

So I got curious about RPN, and its name.
It turns out there are both Polish Notation (PN) and Reverse Polish Notation (RPN).
The description "Polish" refers to the nationality of logician Jan Łukasiewicz, who invented Polish notation in 1924.
So rather than being insulting, it has a historical basis.​
And easier than "Łukasiewicz Notation," or "Reverse Łukasiewicz Notation." :eek:

And I still use my old HP-22 calculator, from my F2 days.

Are any of you RPN guys?

HP35S here, been through heaps of others. Get confused when trying to use an "ordinary" calculator.
I'm a Surveyor, they were pretty much a must have for this profession, not so much now.

Have a couple of HP41s, tape drives, PPC Club Roms, etc. These days I use an app called Realcalc on my android phone so I don't have to look for N cells anymore!

I use an HP-42S. My first one was an HP-25. My Mac calculator is set to RPN and I have HP calculator simulation apps on the Mac and iPhone. I don't know if it's provably a better system, but it's what I'm used to and as with Jim it seems more natural at this point.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
What is funny is I can use a standard desk 10-key calculator with algebraic input.
But when I use a handheld calculator, my brain switches to RPN, and I have trouble with the algebraic handhelds.

I need to look for the RPN calculator apps you guys mentioned, for my phone.

My HP-22 is in need of battery work. I replaced the original battery, but the replacement NiCd batteries, don't last anything like the original did. But at least they are replacable.