Sandisk advice

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by threecats, Sep 17, 2008.

1. When I got the D300 I ordered the Sandisk Extreme IV UDMA cards only because I was total newbie at digital and just figured go with those. Now my question is what is the diff between these and the regular Extreme III at 1/2 the price.

I know the better one will write faster but I seldom machine gun anything. Aside from that would I be giving anything up?

glenn

about to wait forever for a rebate again

2. I'd like to know too. I bought some Extreme III and haven't opened the package and wonder if I should return them.

Marlene

3. I too bought the extreme IV 4gb cards for my D300. The speed is what your paying for. I got 2 cards - then bought an extreme III 8gb card. The difference is big. Just playing around I was able to fire off 100 RAW images without it slowing down. With the extreme III cards I can get about 16 shots before the buffer fills up.

Thats all your paying for is SPEED

4. adrianaitken

adrianaitken Guest

Also, when uploading onto your computer - if your CF card reader is UDMA capable they really do load alot faster.

5. I was reading that when comparing the specs between the two at B&H

6. wgilles

wgilles

Apr 25, 2008
    NJ
  7. Kqw1208

Kqw1208 Guest

Please post a message when you do...:eek:

8. rgordin

rgordin

Jun 3, 2008
    Washington, DC
    I purchased the Extreme IV primarily because of a promotion on the Extreme III and IV cards that made the difference relatively small. The promotion is only through certain retailers.

The discount increases as you buy more cards, up to three of them. I did this once before and it took about 3 months to get the rebate from Sandisk. But I did get it. One store was Beach Camera. The form you can download at that store's site lists others.

The promotion is good on purchases through 9/28.

9. stringbean98

stringbean98

Jul 8, 2008
    NYC