1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

SB800 and Softlitter

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by lr1811, Mar 25, 2007.

1. Last night I purchased a second SB-800 and Photek PHSL60 Umbrella - Softlighter II - 60"

I now have 2 SB-800s, the softlighter, and a 32" umbrella.

Does anyone here use a similar setup? If so, I'd love to see some photos of the setup and the results and really, any general suggestions.

THANKS!

2. Hey Brian,
    There are several people using this set-up with nice results. I would suggest buying a SU-800 if you have anyone that blinks at flashes. Until I got my SU-800, I didn't have a single picture of my youngest boy with his eyes open.
    Anyway, I'm new to this also, but here are a few photos.

original.

View attachment 86949

View attachment 86950

View attachment 86951

Hope this helps.
    Have fun.

Tim

3. Brent M

Brent M

Aug 13, 2006
    I just got a Softlighter myself. I only have the one SB-800. Yesterday was really the first time I've had the chance to use it. I haven't gotten those photos uploaded yet though.

One way to avoid your subjects blinking without the Su-800 is to use the FV lock function for your EV lock button. That way you can separate the pre-flashes from the exposure.

4. bob swanson

bob swanson Guest

:cool:  Just a quick comment. I have 4 SB-800's just for on camera bracket use. The good news on the umbrellas is that they can be used on regular studio lights when you get them. If you can consider the limitations that the small strobes give you (high ISO, limited depth of field, etc) they are a good cattle prod to get mono lights and other studio classified lights. BS:cool: 

5. Brent M

Brent M

Aug 13, 2006