SD-800 Batery pack

Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
385
Location
Georgia
Has anyone used the SD-800 battery pack? This is the one that adds an extra battery to your sb-800 . For only $18 I wonder if it really helps any. Any opinions on this item? I don't have the sb-800 but have considered ordering one.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
869
Location
Atco, NJ
It came with my SB-800 and had a list of recycling times in the manual.
For what I use it for I needed it and noticed a difference ( action )
 
Joined
May 11, 2005
Messages
17,640
Location
Chicago, IL
Alan, that 5th battery is a very useful addition to the SB-800, it sure helps minimize recycle times and it also extends the life of the batteries. Another fine adjunct is the SD-8a battery pack. This item holds eight AA batteries and plugs into the SB-800. With eleven batteries at your disposal, you can shoot an aweful long time.

86645571.gif
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
385
Location
Georgia
Thanks Dave and Frank. Frank I've seen your setup, it's pretty awesome. As many flash units as the sd-8a works on, I wonder why the sb-600 is not one of them? It would be nice to be able to buy and use it now, and it still work when I move up to the sb-800.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
3,187
Location
West coast of FL (formerly Westchester County, NY)
"This item holds eight AA batteries and plugs into the SB-800. With eleven batteries at your disposal, you can shoot an aweful long time."

Frank - have always admired your photography; your math on the other hand.....:biggrin:

8 in the SD-8a plus either 4 or 5 in the SB800 = 11?
 
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
184
Location
Earth
I use a black box battery for my SB-800 set up.
Flash_Setup.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


It has a rechargeable sealed lead acid battery in side. One full charge can shoot about 1,000 flash. If and when the battery died, I can replace the battery inside the black box for about $25.

I don't pay much attention about recycling time so the fifth battery is no use for me.
 
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
184
Location
Earth
Yes. Black box can work with SB-600. I use a standard Quantum MKZ3 cable for my SB-800. He can custom make a cable for your SB-600. I am thinking to send him my cable and change to a DIN plug instead of the RCA plug right now.

I had my black box for almost 2 years. It works great. No more AA batteries purchase. The box is a little heavy but I put it in a small Lowpro P&S camera pouch then strap it on my camera belt. Don't even know it's there. He even offer a slimmer version call Tuxedo compact. It's a little cheaper but the capacity is a little less.

This is the guy I bought it from. He does great custom work for all photography gears. http://www.aljacobs.com His site has all the information you need.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
1,656
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Errrr........ My SD-8A only holds six AA batteries. Either Frank or I can't count. :)

Though Frank's total of eleven implies he meant six batteries. :)

Ronnie
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
2,410
Location
Houston, Texas
Has anyone used the SD-800 battery pack? This is the one that adds an extra battery to your sb-800 . For only $18 I wonder if it really helps any. Any opinions on this item? I don't have the sb-800 but have considered ordering one.

Alan, the SB-800 comes with one already, along with a set of three color correction gels and a Stofen style diffuser.
 

Latest threads

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom