Seeking critique on natural light portrait

Discussion in 'People' started by Kevin Scott, Jun 11, 2005.

1. I'm basically a beginner with portraiture and seeking to continually get better. While I am waiting for my studio strobes, I decided to try a natural light portrait of my 5 yr old daughter. I couldn't quite get the correct angle of light that I had hoped but was fairly pleased with this result.

Would like to receive critiques on what I can improve on. Is there too much of a head tilt? Is the lighting terrible? She has very fine flyaway hair so I can't do much about that. It's difficult for me to "see" things objectively when I'm viewing my own daughter's photos so any help would be appreciated.

I added a vignette to the photo but didn't really like it so this example is without. Does it need one? Generally speaking is it a pleasing portrait? Any feedback is appreciated.

[​IMG]

2. Forgot to mention the shooting details:
    Nikon D2X
    85mm f1.4
    Aperture priority
    1/60 @ f2
    ISO 160
    Center Weight Average
    Handheld

3. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

4. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Kevin,
    I gotta go with Paul on this.

Beautiful Dauthter.
    Perhaps a tad less til on head. Look at cheeks and one eye.

I can't tell on skin tone...Don't know what it really is. My monitor (old) tends to see more red than I like and am constantly have to fix.

Yes Cheuk is truly an expert.

Jarrell Conley spent quite a bit of time asking him questions.If that tells you anything about Chuck. I followed Jarrels questions for a good long time.

You have chosen on of the most difficult types of photography. Weddings too I might add.

Jarrell uses alot of natural light. But softer light of the day.

Sure hope your daughters like to work with you on posing a pictures, because they are beautiful.

5. Hi Paul and Gale! Thanks so much for your thoughts.