Seeking Tips for State Track Meet

I'm shooting at the Washington State High School Track Meet in Cheney, WA this weekend (WIAA). I've been shooting track for a couple of years, and have been pretty active with sports photography this year. I've been designated as the school's photographer and am listed as a supervisor as well.

I haven't photographed a state meet before, does anyone have any tips on photographing state track meets? Anyone have any specific information about the WIAA or Cheney?

Thanks,

Ed

Ed, here is the link to my kid's school track site I made. Feel free to copy as many as you want when you are shooting. I'm strictly amateur, but I did the site so parents who couldn't make the meets could still see what happened. They can take and print whatever they want. Keeper rate was 20-60 out of usually 500-800 pics.

http://lchstrack2010.shutterfly.com/

Have lots of fun. Oh state meet, Iowa won't let anyone on the track or infield during the state meet or districts. The 05-11-10, Sioux City pics were taken outside of the track. Districts and the sun was awful!!!

Ed,

I have never shot at our state track meet. I always want to, but either there is another event going on at the same time or the meet is too far away from me. But I have shot at county championships, league championships, and state qualifier meets. Here's what I will do if I am going to a state meet.