Senior Portraits - 1st attempt

Discussion in 'People' started by Dan C., May 12, 2007.

1. Dan C.

Dan C.

Jan 22, 2007
    Northern Utah
    I took some senior portraits of my daughter the other evening. I found a camera setting that saved me. It is the bracketing on white balance (I think. I am pretty new to this). The setting was in my backyard, and the time was about dusk with available light. They are as they came from the camera, only reduced in size. Let me know what you think.

Ashley1.

Ashley2.

Ashley3.

Thanks

2. I like the last one! Great composure! Love the moles and necklace!
    Was this the 18-55?
    Tim

3. Doug Lutke

Doug Lutke

Dec 30, 2006
    Michigan
    Well Dan, I'm by no means the final say on this, but here's my impression. You daughter is very pretty, brown eyes and hair, and nice smile. I really like the first picture, nice lighting, however it looks a bit soft to me around the edges of her face. Maybe try a little USM to correct this.

I don't care for the 2nd pose. Her fist clench so tight makes me think she's about ready to deck the camera person. I see what you were trying to do with the background and I like the high lighting around her hair. But I find the background a little distracting.

I also like the 3rd image.

Doug

4. They're okay but need some basic adjustments and sharpening to bring them to life.

You may find these tutorials helpful.

[tutiki]Beautiful_Skin_by_Czechman[/tutiki]

[tutiki]Basic_Photo_Adjustments[/tutiki]

5. Samer

Samer

Sep 19, 2006
    Jupiter, FL
    I think her skin is already flawless, so no hardcore post processing is necessary.

But as others mentioned some Unsharp Mask is pretty much required for each photo to look its best.

Another note, I recommend doing some cropping. At least for me, no matter how well I frame a photo when I take it, there is usually stuff I can take out.