Shamu Picture

Discussion in 'Other Animals' started by MikeyD40, Jul 20, 2007.

1. MikeyD40

MikeyD40

Feb 18, 2007
    Arlington, TX
    Is there anything else I could have done to make this picture better?

I shot this with my 55-200 on "P" mode, 1/100, f/5.0, ISO 400

Shamu.

2. Well, I'm no expert, but nope, I think you got it quite nicely! Beautiful shot! You even got the girl flying really nice! Nope, nothing that can be done on this one! Keep em comin!

3. MikeyD40

MikeyD40

Feb 18, 2007
    Arlington, TX
    Thanks Cajun Angel! I just wish Shamu and the rider were not so lost in the crowd...u know!?

4. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Good shot of the huge Orca.
    Yep the croud is always a prob

5. It's a nice shot and you've caught the moment very well.
    But as you asked, a slightly higher shutter speed would make the orca and the girl slightly sharper and the camera would increase the aperture which would blur the crowd a little more: perhaps if you had used shutter priority metering and set 1/125 second, the camera would have set the aperture to f/4.5 which would have given you a slightly better photo. The other thing which would make a slight improvement would be a lower viewpoint, but I guess you didn't have any choice about this.
    Hope this helps

Alan

6. Great shot Mikey!

I agree with your comments re the crowd; in addition to Alan's comments re the shutter speed / aperature, maybe you could try blurring them a little in post processing, if you have the software / skills.

If not here is a purchasing / learning opportunity..... I know I seem to be spending a lot of time / money trying to get better. If you don't have Photo Shop; I believe there are quite a few low cost alternatives that can do this.

The reason I mention this is not because I think you will be able to transform this image exactly as you would like, but that image development / processing has always been a major part of good photography.