Shoot in cloudy days.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by klnyc, Jul 31, 2007.

1. klnyc

klnyc

Jun 24, 2007
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hiya guys,

Newbie here...I had been messing around with my D40 for few weeks. As newbie q's...How do you shoot in over cast day or cloudy day? Do you open up the f/stop or crank up the shutter speed?

thanks
    ken

2. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Tough question to answer Ken because you don't indicate what type of photography you are shooting. Depending on your subject matter, depth of field may be crucial, so apertures are adjusted according to the DOF desired. If shooting at a tighter aperture, bumping up the ISO may be necessary to maintain an appropriate shutter speed. Adjusting the EV compensation may also be necessary after consulting with the histogram and highlights. Using EV compensation will allow you to expose to the right on your histogram. If shooting people on a cloudy day, using a flash may be necessary to brighten faces and allowing for some "pop" in the image.

Let us know what you are trying to shoot so we can help better.

3. klnyc

klnyc

Jun 24, 2007
    Brooklyn, NY
    Ooops sorry about that....For, I want to try(at least) is to shoot some landscape.
    Tall trees, bridges, barns, highrise..
    FYI, I have the following lens:

simga 10-20
    nikon 50 f/1.8
    nikon 15-55
    nikon 55-200

thanks
    ken

4. haze2

haze2

Mar 18, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ken, I shoot a lot of landscape images and I like to keep the ISO low and the aperture around f/11. When it's cloudy I accomplish this by using a tripod and slightly longer exposures. Landscapes, bridges, and architecture are perfect subjects for this technique.