1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Shooting at a wedding

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by italy74, May 20, 2007.

1. Hi all there,
    Since a friend of mine is getting married in the next months I proposed him to shoot, but even if I meant to be the 2nd photographer (my message was: I'd like to come to your wedding and as a gift, shooting some pics where the main photographer is busy with other stuff), since he HADN'T a main photog, shortly I came onto the line of the fire and now that's ME who has this hard responsibility. I warned him: "I'm still studying, and even if I could take good pics, by myself I recognize that there are much better and experienced photographers you could ask: a wedding is always a wedding, an extremely important event in one's life" But he said "We don't want pro photog, it's something done "in family", with friends". Well, I hope he won't regret later of this choice... BY THE WAY (and here is the reason why I'm here): look at it: this is the church where they will marry: http://www.cristinaedavide.it/cerimonia.htm
    1) My gear is what you see bottom, my two flashes have a GN of 58 (Metz) and 30 (SB600)
    2) I haven't ever been there since is quite far (500 km) and I will be just able to give a look at it the day before, but:
    3) as you see, it looks like having a high ceiling while being narrow too: I guess at most i'll have 3-5m from the couple, if I put my gear where is the green plant / white column on the left side close to the altar (assumed the priest will allow me that, otherwise it's all useless). I see there are two halogen (?) spots - and just that, I don't see anything else - at the arch base, one on the left and one on the right.