Should I move to Photoshop from NX2?

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by gnagel, Oct 2, 2008.

1. I've been using Capture NX for about two years now. I'm quite familiar with its functionality and I am happy with the images that I'm able to create with it.

However, I am seriously considering moving to Photoshop (CS3 or waiting for CS4). I'm finding NX2 to be time consuming as the program is slow (even after upgrading my PC). I'm also thinking that Photoshop will allow me to automate more of my processing through actions and will provide more options for plug-ins. Finally, nearly all of the workshops that I think about attending use Photoshop as part of the digital workflow. Photoshop just seems like the industry standard--so maybe I should invest my training time on that product.

I do have some questions before investing the time and money into Photoshop:

1) With NX2, I process my edits on the RAW file and then convert to jpeg. With Photoshop, I'm concerned about the file sizes if I must first convert my NEF images to TIFF or some other very large format before ultimately converting to jpeg. The TIFF files (or psd) files appear massive. And, would I still keep the NEF files? If I convert to jpeg immediatly, I'm concerned that I might lose flexibility/quality during my post processing edits.

2) With NX2, I add IPTC and other data to the file during processing. Is this possible using Photoshop, or would I have to purchase another product such as Lightroom to accomplish that? I'm hoping to save time by using more integrated products during post processing.

3) With NX2, I find myself always processing one image at a time. I'm hoping that Photoshop will allow me to save time through automation. For example, it would save time for me to use actions to frame and add signatures to my photos.