1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Sigma 150mm macro in actual use?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by enikkor, Aug 7, 2009.

1. enikkor

enikkor

Aug 6, 2009
    Midwest USA
    I've read a lot of good things about the Sigma 150mm macro.

Due to it's relatively heavy weight, is this a pure tripod only lens?

Can somebody use a monopod as the main support while shooting?

Experience from owners will be appreciated.

Enikkor

2. bill-e

bill-e

May 10, 2008
    New Hampshire
    I'm a rookie at this but I use it hand held all the time for bugs....Flowers is usually a tripod.
    This is hand held
    dfly2008-08-16_14-16-17.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

3. If this lens is heavy, then I must be Superman.:smile: Really, it's not heavy at all.

This was handheld,
    3387523117_58a9e78b96_b.jpg

4. This is not that heavy a lens, though some support (mono or tripod) works best when really close in. I am not the steadiest shooter though! I typically use it with support... Great lens!

5. panda81

panda81

Feb 7, 2008
    Texas
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  6. Chad

Chad

Jan 25, 2009
    Portland, OR
    The Sigma 150 can be used pretty well hand held. I often use it at its closest focus but usually have my elbows braced against my knees or the ground.

~Chad

7. I use mine hand held 95% of the time when shooting macro and candids

3570807638_1fcab853d7_b.jpg

3784514935_17770ddf97_b.jpg

8. Growltiger

Growltiger Administrator Administrator

I only use it hand held. I usually use flash.
    When photographing insects, patricularly if they are active or in flight, a tripod is too slow.

The very fast focus speed of this lens is a crucial feature.

9. i took the collar off day 1, never used it on a tripod....