Sigma 180mm or Tamron 180mm

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by snakeman, Apr 9, 2007.

1. snakeman

snakeman

Feb 26, 2006
    UK
    Whilst everyone is debating which macro is best in the other thread just curious as to peoples opinions on the best long macro?..I know the nikon 200mm is highly regarded but will be out of my range so its between the tamron and sigma..anyone have experience with either and care to share examples..thanks in advance.:cool:

2. I've taken a few test shots with both 180s and I'd rate them a toss up, shop price. But, in all fairness, a few test shots handheld might not be real legit. If this focal length is important I can certainly understand. The extra standoff distance over shorter lengths can be an advantage. Still, I'd like to suggest the Sigma 150/2.8.

3. JMartin

JMartin Guest

I was asking this same opinion and I eventually ended up choosing the Tamron 180.

You can see a few of my shots, albeit I am a true beginner with macro, in the Alabama get together thread... https://www.nikoncafe.com/vforums/showthread.php?t=109775

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  4. snakeman

snakeman

Feb 26, 2006
    UK
    Thanks Joe and Mike..I used to have the 150mm and would like the extra reach again and think the 180mm would suit me better..

5. Kerry Pierce

Kerry Pierce

Jan 7, 2006
    Detroit
    I did a little research on the tammy and sigma 180 macros, before buying the sigma. The general internet wisdom at the time, indicated that the sigma was quite a bit faster for AF. Since I also wanted to be able to use the lens as a normal tele, that's why I went with the sigma. It has worked fine for me, for both macro and tele, and I really like the macro working distance.

For florals and other stuff that doesn't require 1:1, I use my 70-180 micro, but the sigma 180 has replaced my tamron 90 as my general macro lens. :wink:

6. snakeman

snakeman

Feb 26, 2006
    UK
    Thanks Kerry..I am leaning towards the sigma..