Sigma 50/1.4 vs 50/1.4G vs 50/1.4D vs 50/1.8AF vs 50/1.8E + Bonus (Many Pictures)

I figured I could do a comparison shoot between these lenses just for kicks.

Note that I'm not a professional tester. This wasn't a wholly controlled environment. My vision isn't exactly perfect, so I might have misfocused on the MF shots. I tried to use magnified LV to confirm focus, but again, it's not perfect.

Or, to put in a legal disclaimer, results may not be typical.

Anyway, on to the shots. They were all shot from a tripod with mirror lockup using a remote. I focused on the first shot, for the subsequent shots, focus was not changed. Exposure wasn't locked, I used AE, and being outside, you've got other changes as well. The first set was shot on AWB, the others on 5000K. The first and second sets were shot with matrix metering, the third and fourth with spot metering (the E series lens was shot in manual because it didn't do spot). Sometimes, the first exposure might be a bit hot (blown) because I can't shoot faster than 1/8000s. Also, only the third set was shot on ISO 200, the others were shot on the low setting (ISO 100 equivalent). I shot naked (no filters), though that's not my usual habit. These are straight out of camera JPEG from a D700.

These shots are (at most) useful for a comparison between the lenses, not representative of what these lenses can do. I'm pretty sure that few people take landscape type shots wide open.

Before you chime in with "this thread is worthless without 100% crops," they're coming.

For the first set of pictures, the focus is on the memorial on the left.

Sigma full picture, f/1.4:

4875530287_d003df9db3_b.png
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

50/1.4G full picture, f/1.4:

View attachment 736889

50/1.4D full picture, f/1.4:

4876114746_54b4904239_b.png

50/1.8AF full picture, f/1.8:

View attachment 736891

50/1.8E full picture, f/1.8:

View attachment 736893

Bonus: CV58 full picture, f/1.4: