Sigma 500s

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by StL_Don, Dec 17, 2005.

1. The Sigma 500 / 4.5 lenses have stirred my LL which has been in check for quite a while. It's easy with the 500 AFS II since it is so expensive, but these Sigmas are in reach.

I've come across the 500mm f/4.5 EX APO HSM in great condition for under $2,700. I had thought that the new DG version just had fancier coating and a $4,200 tag... then I got digging deeper and it really is a different lens having one more lens element and one more ounce of weight.

Whatcha think, is the new design better? Am I going to curse the .5 stop when I mount a TC-14? Am I even going to be able to mount the TC-14?

Psycologically speaking, and from past experience, I much prefer Nikon glass - but then I've never had any high-end 3rd party glass.

There's always the option of being patient (which I'm not good at) and hunt for a nice used AFS II at a good price.

Thanks for the advice,
    Don

2. Where did you find the specs that show the new one has different elements? I'll have to go dig my spec sheet out, but I am pretty sure the coating is the only difference. There was an older version, that was not HSM, which did have a different configuration.

As to differences, all I can say is that those of us who use the lens are not unhappy. I use mine with my TC-14E all the time, works like a charm. Remember that you do have to modify the TC-14.

So, could you point me to those specs please? I'd like to check.

By the way, even Sigma told me that the coating was the only difference.

Thanks,

3. general

general

Apr 30, 2005
    Nebraska
    Sigma

Sigma told me the same thing - the only difference that the DX versions have is improved coating.

4. From the B&H product listings.

DG version
    Filter Size 46mm rear drop-in[​IMG]
    f/Stop Range 4.5-32[​IMG]
    Minimum Focus Distance 13.2' (4 m)[​IMG]
    Magnification 1:7.7[​IMG]
    Angle of View 5 Degrees[​IMG]
    Groups/Elements 9/12[​IMG]