Sigma lenses; good enough for Nikons?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Jeff Mims, Dec 16, 2005.

1. Jeff Mims

Jeff Mims

May 25, 2005
    Mississippi
    Not a flame message, just an honest inquiry. From the galleries I've seen, there are some very good photographers here. Photographers, who use quality equipment as well.
    I have no experience with Sigma, other than a 400 f/5.6 I tried (18 years ago), and it was a good lens, IMHO. I was just trying it out, and decided I didn't need that focal length. It seemed well constructed as well.
    For the most part, after AF..I sort of stayed with manufacturers lenses. Seems like each new camera model would be incompatiable with the Tokina/Tamron/Sigma lenses, unless lens was updated. It wasn't a question of being a brand snob. I use the best I can afford, for what I need. With manual focus cameras, I used Tokina and Tamron, and had good results. No complaints.
    Since some NC members use Sigma pretty regulary, that tells me Sigma must be producing some quality lenses. I've heard other comments about Sigma on other boards. For some reason, it's usually from Nikon users, and they like Sigmas.
    Now I'm interested.
    Thanks

2. rbsmith

rbsmith

Apr 13, 2005
    Saltillo, Ms
    Jeff, I'm very happy with my Sigmas. I have the 18-50 2.8, the 70-200 2.8 and the 50-500 Bigma. The 70-200 and Bigma have the HSM. I have no problem with the picture shapness on the 70-200 rates very close to the Nikon, according to others, I have not used the Nikon. i think the major difference with the Nikon is the VR. The Bigma is a great lens but needs alot of light. I may eventually replace them with Nikon glass. But you sure can't beat the Sigmas for price.

3. My Sigma contingent is at the long end, 120-300 f2.8 HSM and the 500mm f4.5 HSM. I won't speak for anyone but myself, but I don't have any complaints.

4. heiko

heiko

May 15, 2005
    Israel