1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Sigma TC for 70-200mm f/2.8 EX D HSM

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Stephen Hopkins, Apr 3, 2007.

1. A few months ago I replaced a Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 VR w/ a Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX G HSM, mainly due to financial reasons but partially for weight and size reduction (the Sigma is the same length w/ hood on as the Nikkor VR w/ hood off). I've been shooting w/ the Sigma for a few months now and I've been very happy with the sharpness, color, and especially the handling and balance.

Now I need to get around to replacing my TC(s). I had Kenko DG 2x and 1.4x but neither will work w/ the Sigma. Now I need to pick up one or two that will work with the Sigma. My Sigma is the HSM D version, not the DG and I'm shooting with a D50. I was planning on picking up D model TCs to save some $$ and to match my D lens. Now I'm reading at KEH that the D TCs will work with film only and I'll need DG TCs to work properly with digital.

Is this true? Is anyone using Sigma D TCs w/ digital? Or will I really need DG TCs even though my D (non-DG) works perfectly fine on my D50?

Thanks!

2. weiran

weiran

Jan 2, 2007
    Nottingham, UK
    The DG blurb on a lens or TC only means that it has a different coating on the rear element to reduce diffraction, otherwise it would be exactly the same as a non-DG (or D) lens/TC.

So you can use either D or DG Sigma TCs, and they would work exactly the same, I have yet to meet anyone who've said they've found the DG coating makes any difference.

What you should look out for is DC on Sigma lenses, which means digital crop only.

Confused yet?!