Silver Efex II Pro Issue resolved

Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
7,892
Location
East TN
I have 2 PCs, one running Vista and one running Windows 7. I'd been running a trial on my Vista box until my academic hard copy of software came via Fed Ex. It did today, so I decided to install on my Windows 7 machine.

Install seemed ok, but what I am getting in my "View" in Silver Efex II Pro is a purple/blueish casting, and some yellow casting on my display copy. Once I press save, and go back to LR3, my black and white conversion looks normal, and as it should.

The confusing part for me is it operates normally on one machine, but instances are being opened from LR3 catalog, I have even opened the same image.

Anyone have any ideas what could be going on here? I am running Radeon graphics on the W7 HP PC. Graphics is about the only thing I can think of that could be an issue, but I don't see how if the files look ok in LR3 though.

Also, it does not matter if I come into NIK Silver Efex II Pro via LR3 or CS5, the results when I get inside the BW conversion software are same.

Further, I checked for updates, none available.

As a exercise of testing, I did a BW conversion in LR3, so there is no color in image. I opened in Silver Efex II, and the blue/yellow areas are still blue and yellow as before. It appears to be a contrast, highlight visibility setting of some kind that was by default on with the CD install version, but not the download version I installed previously on my Vista box. I may be reaching here, but this is a possibility. I could delete it, download it again and see if download version takes care of this, but I will wait and see if I can find any expertise before doing so that has experienced what I have here...
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
7,892
Location
East TN
Mark, thanks I said it was the same if I am in CS5 or LR3 opening SEII. The only thing I am wondering about is Raw conversion maybe, but these are DNG files, not true RAW. They are DNG on both boxes, same images (Leica does not shoot raw, it shoots DNG)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
7,892
Location
East TN
here is a sample

1206855137_bu2qf-XL.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


The pc made me so mad earlier I powered it down, we'll see what happens on reboot. It's crap that my newest W7 machine is giving such grief all the way around. thanks HP.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
7,892
Location
East TN
here is a even more horrid example of what it looks like before conversion back to LR3, strangely, it's all ok once back in LR3 or CS5...

But it would be very difficult to see exactly what you want.

1206972031_iNfEe-X2.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
1,780
Location
Austin Texas
Good luck with your problem -- and please keep us updated
Think I will wait to upgrade to SEII until I hear that several problems are solved
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
7,892
Location
East TN
Problem resolved. Unchecking Graphics GPU processing fixed problem.

Uncheck "Enable GPU Processing".
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom