1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

So I just got asked to shoot a wedding.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Connahhh, Aug 5, 2008.

1. Connahhh

Connahhh

Oct 27, 2007
    NH
    A good friend of mine asked me to shoot his Father's wedding. It's in 6 days, I'm going to be the only photographer there, and I've never done a wedding before. I've always pictured it as a stressful job that I wouldn't want to do, but something in the back of my head is saying go for it. Apparently, his Dad absolutely loves my work, but mannnnn. Haha.

Any opinions? Feel free to ask for more information about it if you think it will help you give a recommendation. I told him I'd get back to him tomorrow.

Help? Please? Haha.

2. I've seen your work. I think you'll do a great job.

3. Connor you'll be fine. Just do all the usual shots, bride&groom, extended family, cute shots of children. I know you have a fisheye so make some goofy pictures with the bride and her maids or the groom and his men. Just have fun, be creative, and shoot A LOT; don't get carried away staring ;) 

4. Carole

Carole

Jun 15, 2008
    Bellingham, WA
    Go for it. There is a first time for everything. I'm shooting my first wedding this Friday and Saturday. They are having the ceremony and a luncheon for family on Friday; then the reception (party) is on Saturday with family and all their friends. The ceremony is in the backyard, so I'm just hoping the weather holds. The forecast is good so we'll see :) 

Carole

5. Carole

Carole

Jun 15, 2008
    Bellingham, WA
    PS
    Go to the library. I got a book called "Digital Wedding Photography". It has some good ideas :) 

6. Connahhh

Connahhh

Oct 27, 2007
    NH
    Thanks everyone. I'm still thinking, but I haven't had anyone say no yet.