So today i got my d50

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by TheHundreds, Jun 30, 2008.

1. TheHundreds

TheHundreds

Jun 26, 2008
    NYC
    Wow i guess i am a super noob.

For some reason these were dark and grainy.

testing: all of these are on f5.6
    also they were on softer and fine.
    1. 25 shutter speed iso: 400
    2. 25 shutter speed iso: 800
    3. 25 shutter speed iso: 1600

DSC_0045.png
    DSC_0046.png
    DSC_0047.png

1. 25 shutter speed iso: 800
    2. 25 shutter speed iso: 400
    3. 25 shutter speed iso: 200

DSC_0048.png
    DSC_0049.png
    DSC_0050.png

i think i need major help.

2. dutchtrumpet

dutchtrumpet

May 2, 2007
    Dallas
    those are all way underexposed. Did the camera indicate a correct exposure when taking the shots?

3. Find yourself a copy of the book "Understanding exposure." It's fantastic: clearly written, lots of photos to illustrate the points made and works through things in a logical progression.

Your photos are underexposed. Changing the ISO changes the sensor's sensitivity to light. The higher the ISO, the more sensitive to light, but also the more grain you will see. In digital, the grain is called noise.

4. TheHundreds

TheHundreds

Jun 26, 2008
    NYC
    hmm how do i make it lighter without raising the is?

5. What's your aperture?

6. An exposure is based on 3 things:

ISO - the sensitivity of the sensor chip to light
    aperture - the opening in the lens, relates to the f number
    shutter speed - how long the sensor is exposed to light

If you drill a small hole through a piece of wood (aperture) and turn on a hose, it will take a long time to fill up a bucket. If you make the hole bigger, the bucket will fill faster.

If you make the aperture opening big (low f numbers, ie. f/1.4, f/2), a lot of light gets in.
    If you make the aperture opening small (big f numbers, i.e. f/11, f/22), not much light gets in.