So today i got my d50

Wow i guess i am a super noob.

For some reason these were dark and grainy.

testing: all of these are on f5.6
also they were on softer and fine.
1. 25 shutter speed iso: 400
2. 25 shutter speed iso: 800
3. 25 shutter speed iso: 1600

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

1. 25 shutter speed iso: 800
2. 25 shutter speed iso: 400
3. 25 shutter speed iso: 200

i think i need major help.

Find yourself a copy of the book "Understanding exposure." It's fantastic: clearly written, lots of photos to illustrate the points made and works through things in a logical progression.

Your photos are underexposed. Changing the ISO changes the sensor's sensitivity to light. The higher the ISO, the more sensitive to light, but also the more grain you will see. In digital, the grain is called noise.

An exposure is based on 3 things:

ISO - the sensitivity of the sensor chip to light
aperture - the opening in the lens, relates to the f number
shutter speed - how long the sensor is exposed to light

If you drill a small hole through a piece of wood (aperture) and turn on a hose, it will take a long time to fill up a bucket. If you make the hole bigger, the bucket will fill faster.

If you make the aperture opening big (low f numbers, ie. f/1.4, f/2), a lot of light gets in.
If you make the aperture opening small (big f numbers, i.e. f/11, f/22), not much light gets in.

If you keep the shutter open a long time (i.e. 1/10th sec, 2 sec), a lot of light gets in.
If you open/close the shutter very quickly (i.e. 1/2000th sec), not much light comes in.

Exposure relates to how much light you let in. You can choose to control this via the shutter speed (S mode), the aperture (A mode), or by setting both (M mode). Or you can let the camera choose both (P mode).

So to get more light, you need to either open the aperture up more (low numbers) or leave the shutter open longer.