Softball :X

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by Glas, Jul 17, 2007.

1. Glas

Glas

Jun 17, 2007
    S.E.Asia
    F5.6 1/1600 170mm using 18-200mmVR
    What happened to my sky? It's supposed to be blue and not white :frown:
    How do I get blue sky?Comments and help please :smile:

507ybdx.

2. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    I'm not an expert by any means, but I'd sure like to help. This image looks backlit and a tad over-exposed, so that might be the start. While shooting that day, you probably would have benefitted by paying close attention to your histogram and your highlights. If you noticed blinking when viewing your highlights, you would want to try applying some negative EV compensation. Are you able to retrieve any additional EXIF data some we can see what you did? That would help us offer comments to help you for the next time out.

3. Viewing your EXIF data, it looks like you're shooting at ISO 1000 and you have an exposure compensation of +1. Change your ISO down to 200 and put your exposure compensation to 0 or maybe -3 or -7.

From the shadows, it looks like you're shooting into the sun and that doesn't help. The other problem may be that you're shooting in Center Weight meter mode, 3D Matrix might have done better.

4. Glas,

Judging by the orientation of this shot your camera was probably metering on the medium dark blue of the pitcher, based upon that it will blow out the highlights of the sky and anything light because of the bright sunlight. When you have such a large difference between the dark & light in a shot like this you're going to lose one end or the other on such a brightly lit sunny day. The hardest time to get any sky to show is midday like this game, so don't be so hard on yourself, I don't think anyone can capture the detail in this pitcher's face and jersey AND get the sky too.