Solid replacement for D300?

Hi, guys.

I've been shooting with a D300 since 2008, but I'm tired of getting subpar(or worse) sports shooting in low-light situations due to less-than-desirable ISO speeds.

What, in your own opinion(s) would be a solid upgrade to the D300?

I have my eye on the D800, but, since I'm than likely going to be on a semi-strict budget, I'm looking at the D7100, simply because of you get the FX ISOs with the DX crop factor.

If I shouldn't go for the D7100, why? Is there something that I don't know about that may not make me happy with it?

D7100. Game over. But the D400 is rummored to be out this fall and that may well be a game changer.

John - The D7100 has gotten very good reviews but I would recommend that you handle one at your local dealer to see how you like the fit and build. I've got a D800 and it is pretty good in low light depending on how high you need to go with your ISO. I've attached a shot that was taken at the National Zoo at ISO 1000. The vertical was cropped out of the middle of the picture and I was using an 80-200 lens with a rather shakey stroboframe bracket on my monopod. The detail is pretty good but it is certainly not tack sharp. Other users have probably gotten better results with their D800s using better technique than I do. Good luck making your decision.

d600 why..i was in the same boat 1 yr ago. I have a d300s. Once I went full frame...a whole another world is now open!

I’ve been impressed by the D800 coming from a D300. I know nothing about the D7100. Photo below was taken in an almost no light end zone as this kid high stepped into the end zone. I never got anything like this with the D300. This was my first time with the D800 at night.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Neither camera really gives you the burst shooting performance of the D300: