SOLUTION: Synchronizing Folders

Discussion in 'Apple/Mac' started by Walter, Jun 25, 2007.

1. Walter

Walter

Jan 13, 2006
    Columbia, Maryland
    Walter Rowe
    This was discussed recently. I am new to the Mac platform, but I am a UNIX administrator in my first career so I was determined to research this and get a solution. I have more than 160GB of image files, client contracts, etc, that I want to insure are backed up reliably to multiple disk drives. I went to Apple's web site and scanned all of the Automator actions and found these three that I am still toying with.

These all look promising. All have the same author.

UPDATE: I have been testing the Backup Folder automator. It works as advertised, but is not very fast. It has been running for several minutes now comparing to relatively small olders (3.77GB) as compared to my production image drive with 160+GB.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 25, 2007
  2. wbeem

wbeem

Feb 11, 2007
    Sanford, FL
    William Beem
    If you're a UNIX admin, you may be more comfortable with shell scripts or any of the other scripting languages on the command line. Mac OS X is Unix underneath the glossy interface. Open up Terminal and go to town.

3. Walter

Walter

Jan 13, 2006
    Columbia, Maryland
    Walter Rowe
    Thanks, I did that. I now have rsync working for me. It is far faster. Comparing drives takes 30 seconds. The time to sync changed files obviously depends on how many files have changed.

4. fixed point

fixed point

Jan 24, 2007
    minneapolis
    I was going to recommend rsync, but it looks like you are already there. You may want to check out rsyncx because the version that Apple ships doesn't always handle resource forks and other HFS+ specific items correctly. IIRC, installing rsyncx puts another command line rsync in /usr/local/bin and I call this one from shell scripts to backup my systems.

5. Walter

Walter

Jan 13, 2006
    Columbia, Maryland
    Walter Rowe