Some love for the Sigma 30/1.4

Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
515
Location
Northeast
@1.4
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


@1.4
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


@f11
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


@f11
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


@1.4
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Thanks for looking.

-Chad
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
125
Location
Cambridge, MA
I really like the first shot. There's just something about the use effective of shallow DOF in shots like that that give them an other-worldly feel, almost like a scale model. Great stuff.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
180
Location
Toronto
Chad, what camera did you use? I just get the same lens but I have to do adjustment with the focus to maximum +20, otherwise I get a front focusing with my D300.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
515
Location
Northeast
Thanks Tim. I like the scale model look as well. Someday I'd like to try some sort of tilt shift type of picture.

Alex, I'm using the D300 as well. I just received this used copy earlier this week. Luckily I got a good copy. Yours sounds like it's way too far out of wack. I would send it off to Sigma for a calibration. Good luck.

-Chad
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
180
Location
Toronto
Thanks Tim. I like the scale model look as well. Someday I'd like to try some sort of tilt shift type of picture.

Alex, I'm using the D300 as well. I just received this used copy earlier this week. Luckily I got a good copy. Yours sounds like it's way too far out of wack. I would send it off to Sigma for a calibration. Good luck.

-Chad
I got a used one too, but before I tried 1 at the store I get the same problems, maybe my camera is not right, so for sure you are lucky, as you said you don't need to adjust the AF, if I send to sigma do I have to send with the body or just the lens? I don't really like to send for calibration, can I just use it with +20? the results is not too bad, sharp enough for me.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
515
Location
Northeast
Thanks, Nute. It's only come off once since receiving it. That was only because I needed the fisheye in order to take a shot.

-Chad
 
N

Nuteshack

Guest
Thanks, Nute. It's only come off once since receiving it. That was only because I needed the fisheye in order to take a shot.

-Chad
i hear u Chad ...i have it mounted on my wife's d40 right now. my other lenses are getting lonely ..lol
:biggrin:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
125
Location
SF
The more I see what this lens can do, the more I warm up to the idea of 3rd party lenses.
thanks for sharing
-jason
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom