Something just for fun

Discussion in 'People' started by Kevin Scott, Dec 16, 2005.

1. My wife's business partner saw a shot in one of my photo books and thought it would be fun to do something similar. It was a shot of simply a woman's eyes as her turtle neck sweater was pulled up on her nose and her arm wrapped across her forehead leaving only her eyes exposed.

Years ago, she worked as a psychic/fortune teller at Universal Studios and still has some of her costumes, which included various scarves with coins, etc, etc. So we used one and came up with the following.

It was really just for fun as I've never done anything like this before. I was surprised at how striking the image turned out. The only pp I really did was to bump the saturation in her eyes, but only a little. She's got beautiful eyes.

We both were happy with how it turned out. I may even use it on my website just because it's different. I took a shot of this picture with my cell phone when I had it pulled up on my monitor and am using it for wallpaper. Strange, I know, but for some reason I really like it! :smile:

Should mention that this was taken with the 105/f2.5 AIS @ f5.3, 1/60. I love this lens! Used my SB-600 as main and SB-800 as fill using shoot-through umbrellas, both side by side above camera hugging the lens axis.

What do you think?
    [​IMG]

2. I see what you mean. The picture draws you to her beautiful green eyes.

3. This is a great shot, a lot of mysteries in the eyes.

Though it's quite different, somehow it reminds of the National Geographic's Afghan Girl.

4. To me, the green/gold/black contrasting colors are what really make the image. I like it.

I see the similarity to the Afghan girl, but this model's eyes are not nearly as intense, although the color is quite close.

5. It reminds me of one I did not too long ago. I would have used flash but I did not want to blind her.

6. Great shot Kevin, I love it. Her eyes are mesmerizing, well done.

7. Kevin,