Speed + Teenager = Accident

Discussion in 'Photojournalism, Candids and Street Photography' started by David_Bailey, Aug 4, 2007.

1. gadgetguy11

gadgetguy11

Nov 16, 2005
    Kentucky
    I hope she learned a valuable lesson. Yesterday the local news reported a local 14yr old (2 yrs under legal age) driving a Dodge Neon with 5 fellow student passengers at speeds to 100MPH. He lost control and crashed through 3) fences, and died at the scene. His friends survived with injuries.

2. Last year we had 3 14 year olds die after taking 1 of their fathers Ford Ranger for a joy ride with 2 other 14 year old girls. The girls lived, the boys died. It's tragic when these things happen.

I would hope that someone in this situation would not only learn a lesson but take that lesson to their peers and warn them that speed and inattention kills.

Prior to my current profession I was a Police Officer in the SF Bay Area for 15 years and saw more deaths than I care to remember. Teenage car accidents can usually be avoided.

3. We lose so many this way. Too many.

4. Wow, I've not seen that much oil spill out in quite some time. Usually its the antifreeze that's everywhere (and damn don't your boots get slippery if you step in that stuff!). Glad to hear she'll be ok, her seatbelt probably saved her. Good for her for wearing it!

5. If you notice the front end of her vehicle shows where she ran right through a very large tree before hitting a ditch, going airborne and rolling it. It's a miracle she survived any of the impacts.

6. While they were not teenagers, USAF personnel at the base in Holland, [where I wasted some valuable time in 1964], were reminded by the Base Commander thru means of several wrecks prominently displayed, that drinking and driving do not mix. While this may simply be inexperience on the girl's part, having a few wrecks displayed at the local high school may make these kids think twice????

7. She's lucky to be alive.

8. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005