1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Spider I.D.?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Coresounder, May 25, 2007.

1. I just found this in my office sink. Please don't tell me it's what I think it is.
    (Brown recluse).
    [​IMG]

2. Leigh

Leigh

Feb 19, 2005
    Alabama
    Yikes, Carlton! It sure looks like one! I'm no expert, but I'd definitely say that looks to be a brown recluse.

3. From Wikipedia:

4. DW Brewer

DW Brewer Guest

Sure looks as a Brown Recluse to me.

5. It looks like one, Time to call the exterminator.

6. Yep...that's exactly what it is. If it bites you, it probably won't kill you, but your flesh will rot and it's hard to stop. The good news is that it doens't take much to kill spiders. Exterminators aren't absolutely necessary...get a couple cans of pesticide or a fogger.

7. The violin-shaped marking gives it away.

8. Thanks for the responses. This is what bit my mother a couple years ago on the foot. It got so bad, three different doctors wanted to remove her foot. It took a doctor who thought outside the box to get it healed. However, it is still not 100% even after 2 years.

I do believe "was" a Brown Recluse. It's hard to see in the image, but it has 3 sets of 2 eyes...Brown Recluse.

9. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Good spotting Carlton! I was bit by one of those. Necrosis is gross, even more so when it on your own thigh! It did heal, but it took more than a year.

10. I'm not sure what a violin is but this is known as a fiddleback spider in Tennessee.:smile::smile:

11. Strange, suddenly I no longer wish to visit either Ohio or Tennessee :wink:

12. jcdoss

jcdoss

Feb 20, 2007
    Kansas City