Start of Soccer Season with my new lens

Discussion in 'Photojournalism, Candids and Street Photography' started by Mitchell, Nov 6, 2005.

1. Finally had our first soccer game of the season, yesterday. I've been itching to try my new 180mm on my D2X. Unfortunately, it was noon on a sunny day. The harsh lighting was a challenge. The focus on my D2X blows away my D70. Please give me any advice and comments to improve as the season progresses.

Play ball!

43143814-M.

43143824-M.

43143830-M.

43143852-M.

Penalty kick...
    43143812-M.

2. Mitch,

Nice work> Shoot from the corners...sound in raw mode....bring alot of flash cards...find a comfortable chair, your work flow will double.

3. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Hi Mitch,

I aspire to shoot sports for a living once I retire from my career in less than three years. I have asked some pro sports shooters to critique my images and the resounding comment is to crop my images real tight to enhance the play at hand. Everyone has their own shooting style and there is no right or wrong way to do sports images. My recommendation (which was recommended to me when I became so interested in shooting sports) is to buy some sports magazines and review the images that the pros shoot. Their images seldom feature more than two players in focus, the backgrounds are blurred as to not distract from the interest of the image, don't always shoot from a standing position...try shooting from your knees or even from your belly which will add a unique orientation and the images are cropped tight to feature facial expressions. If there is something special to be learned about sports photography, it's how to capture action at it's peak and how to successfully crop to weed out what is not necessary. I have shot, what I thought were great sports images, only to be critiqued by pros who thought that my images were way too loose. If you have a longer focal length lens, give it a try and shoot wide open to blur the backg