Stuck in SB800 screen - help

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by the_traveler, Aug 2, 2007.

1. I have limited experience with the SB800 altho I have been successful in using it off-camera as the remote.

Now It seems to be stuck in this screen pictured below and I can't get it back to the basic screen.

Any help?
    any link to good tutorial on the SB800 (the manual is terrible)
    thanks in advance.

sb800ue9.

2. Ray C.

Ray C.

Nov 7, 2005
    Thailand
    Lew,
    Push and hold the "Sel" button. When the next screen comes up, push the "sel" button again and then use the "+" button to move it from "master" to "off." Then push and hold the "sel" button again.

That should fix it.

3. Thanks a lot.
    I see you are in SEA - my favorite place. You're very lucky. I spent 5 weeks in Laos in Jan/Feb and can't wait to return.

4. Ray C.

Ray C.

Nov 7, 2005
    Thailand
    No problem Lew.

I know what you mean...Thailand rocks! There are definitely worse places to live and "semi"-retire at 43! :wink:

5. One of my pet peeves. The SB flashes are the most poorly documented pieces of electronic equipment I have ever seen. The manual is virtually worthless.

I may not be the sharpest knife in the drawer (I only graduated in the top 5 of my medical school class), but Nikon should be ashamed of themselves for these manuals!!

6. what I do not understand why they have altogether different set of key combinations for a similar task in SB-600. I think Mode and - button together changes modes. Drives me crazy to work with SB-800 and SB-600 together.

7. Mitchell and Sam, I couldn't agree more. When I first got mine I immediately gave up on the manual and went into a darkened room and didn't come out until I had learned how to use them. What a joke the manuals are.