Stupid question: D40x + Fisheye compatibility

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Skunkabilly, Jun 20, 2007.

1. I'm a noob and didn't realize this before putting the puppy on second day delivery: is the D40x compatible with the 10.5mm Fisheye?

I thought that it just doesn't work with older AF lenses, but read somewhere here that it's all non AF-S lenses??

2. Now I feel like an herramienta.

I think it's being delivered tomorrow. I'll just have to eat the shipping and send it back. I loaned my D70 to a friend who is out of the country for a few months. I miss my mid-size camera! The D200 is a beast.

3. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    You should be able to manually focus with it. I imagine it's pretty easy to MF a 10.5, eh?

4. jeffreyk

jeffreyk Guest

Agreed. I don't think MF is an issue with 10.5mm. At f/5.6 (hyperfocal at 0.98m), DOF is 0.5m to infinity:biggrin:

5. Julien

Julien

Jul 28, 2006
    Paris, France

Ditto to what both said. I think it's one of the lenses where AF is the least important thing to worry about :smile:

6. A couple of years ago I was doing some macro work with my 70-300 + 6T at the beach. That combo more or less requires setting the camera in manual focus mode. It got too dark, so I gave up and went inside. Later that night I decided to go some shots of the night sky and the dimly lit beach surroundings, and I used the 10.5mm. The next morning when I downloaded them I was surprised to discover that (a) I'd left the camera in MF mode, and (b) the 10.5mm shots came out just fine, even though I *thought* I was in AF mode!

I wouldn't recommend "no-focusing" mode, but MF with this lens is surely not a big deal. Since you've already spent the money to get it shipped in, I'd go try it before sending it back.

7. Once you touch puppy you will never let it go. It is a gorgeous little camera, capable of great shots!