Technical Advice - Ethernet

LyndeeLoo

Administrator
Administrator
Forgive me in advance, but I am not a techie by any means. I know enough to get by, however... 🙄

Here’s the deal: due to COVID-19, I am now working from home for the foreseeable future. I have Wi-Fi in my house, of course, and my ethernet cord connects from the router to my computer tower (I have a desktop computer). For work purposes, I have a laptop that I have taken from my office. Now, in order to use my work laptop I have to take the ethernet cord from the tower and plug it into the laptop. Then, when I want to use my personal computer, I have to switch the ethernet cord back. I don’t feel like doing this any longer. What I want to do is to simply boot up my personal computer when I am done working without having to switch the cords back-and-forth. I started doing some reading and some research, and from what I am reading, I think an ethernet switch may be the answer??? 🤷🏽‍♀️

My question is am I on the right track? I don’t want my work laptop to “talk” to my desktop under any circumstances. I just don’t want to keep switching the ethernet cord back-and-forth every single day like I’ve been doing for the past 12 weeks. Will an ethernet switch with a second ethernet cord solve my problem? Or do I need some other type of device?

Thanks in advance! 😊

Look on the back of your WiFi router.
Many of them have multiple ethernet jacks, one of which will be connected to your desktop.
Then you just need another cable to connect from the router to your work laptop.

If you do not have a vacant ethernet jack on the router, then you have two choices.
Buy a new router that has multiple jacks, and have the hassle of setting up the new router for WiFi.
Or buy a switch to put between the router and the desktop/laptops.
Switch is a funny name, because there is no physical switch for you to turn/press to switch from one computer to the other. A network switch is a sophisicated hub.​

LyndeeLoo

Administrator