Telephoto Zoom for Z6

I’m new to the Nikon world so don’t have an existing lens selection to fall back on and I’d like to add a telephoto zoom to my kit. I currently have a Z6, 24-70/4 and 50/1.8. I’ve just ordered an FTZ adapter and so far I’ve considered the following options:
  • Tamron 70-210mm f/4 Di VC USD
  • Nikon AF-P Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6E ED V
Apart from the obvious comparison that one has a constant aperture whilst the other has a better zoom range, is there anything that should sway me towards one over the other?

You found a wonderful site with many experienced shooters willing to share and teach.
With that in mind, we will need more information.
At a minimum we would need to know:
What do you shoot? You will get different recommendations if you are trying to shoot fast birds in flight or stationary zoo animals- just as an example.
What are you doing with your images? Images that are destined to your facebook page can use different equipment than images going to large gallery prints.
The 70-300 is a pretty nice lens, and well respected. It is a little slow, but that may not be an issue.
I have shot with Tamron glass in the past and was pleased with it, but never used the 70-210 tamron.
If it was me, 210mm is not all that long, I would look for longer glass. But again, depends on your needs.
Gary

Real Name
Bill Walderman