The dawn of the "photovan"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Desmond, Nov 2, 2007.

1. This is my new project . I decided not to buy a D300 , instead for the same price I got a D40 and this van .

[​IMG]

It is going to be my 'photography van' for events and general holiday purposes . To start with I cleaned off the old wooden floor and installed some lino ....

[​IMG]

Tomorrow I will buy a diy computer desk and bolt it in up against back of the seats . Then I will mount the large truck battery [ I'm an auto electrician ] and 600W inverter to feed my laptop and chargers . I will also bolt a large toolbox at the back for camera bags to hide in . I might just install a compressor and air tank along with a truck air-horn on the roof :cool:
    Feel free to add suggestions .

Edit : Photovan journeys so far .

Stony Bay - Coromandel East tip
    Coromandel- West tip
    Northland
    Port Waikato
    Ruapehu
    Rally
    Marokopa
    Surfing "upgrade'
    Taranaki
    East Coast
    Snowy Tongariro
    snowy northern circuit
    Kawhia10/2009
    photovan revisits stony bay
    The photovan's blog

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  2. tomtodeath

tomtodeath

Jan 11, 2007
    new jersey
    Dual sliding doors, nice!

3. A blessing or a curse ? I like having them but it does restrict where and how I will place storage and the desk . If it wasn't there I could have one side fully taken up but with the option of two doors I will end up designing the more limited space around the second door .

4. Well I don't know what the climate is like in NZ, but if it were my van I'd invest in some sort of camoflage for your computer, inverter, etc. Depending on where you drove it in the USA, if everything were in plain view all the time that might prove to be too tempting a target (especially with all those windows so you could get a good look before breaking in).

Out of sight, out of mind, and all that. :)