1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

The Nikon Df, and thoughts from a wedding photographer

Discussion in 'Nikon FX DSLR Forum' started by Radiohead, Apr 2, 2014.

1. Morning all

As some might know, I'm a full-time wedding photographer here in England and have been watched the rise of mirrorless (and Fuji in particular) with interest. I've spent the last 2 years shooting with a pair of D3s's, having used D3/D700 before that, and the original 5D for a few months before that.

As the seasons have passed I've moved from a mainly zoom set-up (14-24, 24-70 and 70-200) to a pure prime set-up, specifically Nikkor 24/35/50/85 f1/4's, along with a 28/1.8 recently. This lightening and downsizing has led me to look at my ageing D3s's with view to seeing where I go next. Having run an X-Pro1 as a personal camera for a few months but finding the AF and battery life clear barriers to using that (and the XE's) for pro work. The X-T1 then piques my interest, but having trialled a friend's I found a number of issues with that as well - namely the AF in low-light is still not at D600 level, let alone better, the battery life still an issue with pros I know using them needing a min of 3 batteries a day for each body, the way the (admittedly excellent) EVF blocks up in very bright sunlight (aka, summer receptions at weddings) and the noise levels within the EVF leading to some lag in low light (aka, evenings at UK weddings). Of the 10 or so UK pros who are using Fuji I only know one who has moved entirely to Fuji, with the rest keeping at least one good DSLR because of AF and some performance issues with the Fuji as the light falls.