"The worst performer by far was the Nikon lens..."

Commodorefirst

Admin/Moderator
Administrator
Not surprised a lens design 15 years old and it was not stellar when it first came out. In fact the 200 older lens performs much better. I own this lens, and while ok/good, it simply is not stellar.

i had better results from my 300 f4 telephoto For macro work.

I have no experience with the Nikon lens he is testing (105VR micro). His results might be relevant since that lens has been around quite a long time and there have been quite a lot of advances in lens design and manufacturing since it came out.

On the other hand, he might have gotten a poor copy of the lens. Roger Cicala at LensRentals.com has commented on the wide variation between samples of lenses and he always tests at least 10 samples before publishing results. The 105 micro has always gotten excellent reviews.

I read the article but have not yet watched the video, can only speak from my own experience. Back in November when I purchased my new gear, the number one item on my list (aside from the camera, of course!) was the Sony 90mm f/2.8 macro lens. Since that first day, this truly stellar lens has spent significantly more time on my camera than any of my other lenses, and undoubtedly will continue to do so over time...... I absolutely love this lens because it is sharp, it is precise, it does more than I could've expected and it is comfortable and easy to hold and work with in my hands. Yes, it's not an inexpensive lens but IMHO it is worth every penny -- certainly to me!