Thinking about it

Folks,

I am a Canon shooter and might be a Nikon convert soon (won't go into reasons here as I have already posted them in a different thread). I played with D300s and D700 in a camera store. Although they didn't seem to be too different in their looks, both of them felt different in my hand. D300s felt "nicer"/better ergonomically. I have a couple of questions for current D700 owners. At the moment, I can afford D700 so going full frame for an extra $1000 isn't going to be a problem if it is worth it. I am not a pro but a serious enthusiast who likes to shoot birds, bikes, portraits and my kids playing sports.

1: Did you consider D300s before buying D700 especially if you do any fast paced shots (indoor volleyball/hockey; motors ports, etc)? On the sports forum, I see a lot of pros using a D300s.

2: Can D700 do a 7-8fps with Nikon battery grip but without using en-el4 battery. This battery is crazy expensive.

3: Do you get any vignetting with the 70-200 mm 2.8 VRII lens?

4: Did you wish D700 had dual card slots (one of the reasons I am considering Nikon is dual slots).

5: The shutter sounded much louder than the D300s and the sales person said that that's how it is on D700. OUCH! Didn't sound like a modern DSLR.
Many thanks for your suggestions & recommendations.