Thinking of Buying a Nikon FE...

Discussion in 'Film Forum' started by ShadowFox19, Oct 3, 2008.

1. Hey Y'all!
    I'm thinking about looking for, and buying, an old-school film camera...a Nikon FE to be exact. Is there anything I need to know about this camera? I've never used a film SLR before, but they've always intrigued me. I was thinking of just buying one lens for it (like a 50/1.8 or 1.4) and keeping it on it all the time. What glass would you recommend?
    Also, I'm currently using a D80, how will this camera differ?

Thanks in advance!

2. Nick, I honestly would recommend an N80 for a first time film user. They are cheap ($50-$80). Since they function in a similar manner to a dslr the transition is easier for first time film users. The N80 also works well with afd, afs and vr lenses! If you find you indeed like film then you can pick up an older manual camera like the FE (which is great little camera by the way).

3. mhcfires

mhcfires

Aug 23, 2007
    El Cajon, CA
    I have been a long time film user who bought a Nikon D80. I then found a used (virtually new) N80 which I chose because it can use all the same lenses as the D80. I have other much much older film cameras which I still use. I agree that the N80 would be a good choice for Nick. It will make the transition to an older manual camera easier. :smile:

4. rotxlk82

rotxlk82

Jul 20, 2007
    UK
    Firstly, you haven't by any chance been reading Rockwell recently have you? :smile:

I have used an FE briefly and it is a capable machine, in his review Ken makes all very valid points which I generally agree with after having used the camera myself.

That withstanding Ray's suggestion of the F80/N80 is also very good, the FE allthough capable is very different in operation to modern cameras while the F80 will act very much like the modern digital body you're used to. Personally I like the traditional virtues of my old FA but sometimes I do miss the features of newer cameras.