This is why I'm an amateur

I'm absolutely incapable of taking a good picture of something I don't care about. So if someone paid me to take pictures of some random person or product, I'd be very bad at it.

I wouldn't mind being able to see better and maybe making money from photography someday, but at the moment, I can't even justify charging anybody for my work. I'm looking at books, browsing photos here, etc but even when I was walking around today, I don't see certain things that I've seen people post here.

How do I get over this?

Gratuitous random shot. A free book left behind - found at a bench of a local shopping center.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

I'm absolutely incapable of taking a good picture of something I don't care about. So if someone paid me to take pictures of some random person or product, I'd be very bad at it.

I wouldn't mind being able to see better and maybe making money from photography someday, but at the moment, I can't even justify charging anybody for my work. I'm looking at books, browsing photos here, etc but even when I was walking around today, I don't see certain things that I've seen people post here.
Just shoot for fun .
There's a saying " To make a small fortune in photography start with a big fortune " . That was in the days of film as well . These days with digital making it easy enough for anyone to take pictures they are satisfied with
it is hard enough for pros to make a full time living out of photography so don't waste too much time and money trying if you're unsure of yourself - just have fun and try to improve where you can in the process :smile: .

The $$$ are enough of an inspiration for me... :tongue: I'm not in the habit of taking random shots when it's for me, and when I'm hired, it's to shoot people, and I like that no matter what...

Just shoot for fun.