Thistle

Discussion in 'Macro, Flowers, Insects, and Greenery' started by antsplan, May 21, 2007.

1. I dont normally shoot flowers, all of my attempts so far have always ended in severe disappointment. Seeing the pictures on this site has inspired me to give it a go, and whilst i'm still not particularly happy with these two shots, its about the best from about 200 images I took, so I might as well post them and at least get some pointers for next time.

It's essentially the same shot with slightly different PP, but unfortunately the second method seems to have introduced some noise ? In both I have reduced the saturation as the orange/red/yellow of the thistle seemed to be merging into one big blob. For the second I just kept going with the desaturation, increased the black value in CS3 raw and added fill light and a little sharpening.

Any comments welcome, i'm still relatively new to photograpy (approx 1yr) so anything will probably help. Thanks.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
  3. mrtac2man

mrtac2man

Jun 3, 2005
    CT
    really like the color in #1. have never seen a thistle that color..

4. Gale/Tim

Thanks for your comments.

Your shot is gorgeous Gale, is this the way to get a black background ? i.e. low light and flash, are there other ways ?

The background in the colour one is a little distracting for me - do others agree ?

It was very windy when I took the shot and I would have liked it it a little sharper around the petal strands.

Tim, thanks. I suspect that with the desaturation I have done even to the colour one, that the colour is not exactly what I saw with my eye. The Thistle was pretty much Orange. I will have another go at PP as I have quite a few images. BTW I have never previously seen an orange thistle either. Got it from a flower shop yesterday.

Is anyone aware of any good tutorial threads for making a start in flower photography ? I really don't even know the basics.

Thanks again

Anthony

5. Gale

Gale